Log in

distinguished merit award

Distinguished Merit Award

The Distinguished Merit Award is offered once every two years in recognition of an outstanding contribution to the international advancement of the science and art of cancer nursing.

Nomination Criteria

  • The successful nominee will be a professional nurse who has made a significant and innovative contribution to cancer practice, education, research, or management at an international level.
  • This contribution should go beyond that which would be normally expected of a professional nurse in his/her particular sphere of professional endeavor.
  • The award is not designed to recognize long and faithful service by a cancer nurse in the practice of his/her profession.
  • A higher degree (e.g. Masters or PhD) or other academic attainment is not a pre-requisite for nomination and selection.
  • The nominee for the award must hold an appointment for which a nursing qualification is required or for which such a qualification is relevant.

Up to 2 nominees may be selected for the Distinguished Merit Award if warranted.

Distinguished Merit Award Recipients

2023: Wendy Wing Tak Lam, University of Hong Kong, China
2020: Theresa Wiseman, University of Southampton, UK
2018: Letitia Lancaster, Westmead Hospital, Sydney, Australia
2016: Sanchia Aranda, Cancer Council of Australia
2014: Betty Ferrell, City of Hope National Medical Center, Buellton, USA
2012: Stella Bialous, University of California, San Francisco, USA
2012: Virginia Gumley, Shaukat Khanum Memorial Cancer Hospital. Lahore, Pakistan
2010: Vernice Doris Ferguson, RN, MA, FAAN, FRCN, Washington DC, USA
2008: Connie Henke Yarbro, Columbia, Missouri, USA

ISNCC Secretariat
Suite 710 - 1201 West Pender Street, Vancouver, BC V6E 2V2

© 2022 - ISNCC. All rights reserved.

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software